Summer Days and Big Changes

Well, friends, it’s been a damn fine week. All sorts of good things happening. The sun is making a rare appearance in the Northwest, giving us Seattle folks a deliciously warm summer day for the first time in what feels like forever. I’ve got my plants enjoying a sunbath out in the yard, Mona blissfully lying in the grass, and the last of the strawberries from my garden coming into ripeness. I’ve perched myself in a hammock chair under my patio (graciously hung by older brother and resident handyman, Dylan) for the day, determined not to go inside unless it’s time for another beer or to refill Mona’s water dish.

After two long months of stressing out and looking for a full-time job, piecing together unemployment money with odd editing jobs, I finally got an excellent offer for a job I’ve been hunting down since mid-April. I have one more week of goofing off before I begin my new position as content editor at OnlineShoes.com. Did you hear that people? Shoes! What more could a girl ask for? The location is great, the money is good, and above all else, it just feels damn good to have landed a job I actually want during a time when it is not so easy to get a job of any kind.

I accomplished another major feat this past week as well. Because Dylan is an avid biker, he convinced me that it was time for me to get over my fear of crashing my bike and learn to ride again. Though I sure wasn’t happy about it, I put some trust in my big brother and followed him out onto the mean streets of Ballard…at rush hour. Though even Dylan admitted that the route we took provided for some pretty extreme urban riding situations, I found the experience rather empowering, if for no other reason than that I managed not to fall and hurt myself. This might not seem like a big deal to those who ride their bikes around this city every day, but hey—for a girl who averages a crash during one out of every three bike rides, this is a monumental achievement.

This is a time of major change in my life, and I’m pretty excited about it. Sure, it’ll be hard to convince Mona that staying at home alone all day is what most dogs do and that she’ll get used to it, but I think we can handle it. I’ve been working from home for almost four years, and the change of pace has come at the perfect time. Like my wise and beautiful sister-in-law/best friend, Erin, said to me on the phone last night, change is good but it can be exhausting. I’m not sure yet what all this change will do to my writing habits and productivity but I do know now, that whatever ends up happening, I’ll find a way to make it work. I always do. Even if I become a weekend warrior writer, or stay up way too late furiously typing in bed, I’ll get this book finished. I can’t imagine what it would be like to come home at the end of a workday and be finished with my work. To simply veg out with dinner in front of the TV after work seems like a pretty foreign concept to me, and to all writers.

While Dylan and I were watching TV the other night, I got up and walked into the office, complaining about how much I wanted to just watch TV the rest of the night. Dylan was confused by my system of allotted TV time, but I explained that in order to fit my writing time into the day, I need all kinds of self-inflicted discipline and deadlines. And it’s a good thing that I’ve had some practice in this arena, even though I’ve been so spoiled by working from home all this time. Making time for my writing is going to take some serious scheduling, some late hours, and yes—probably some kind of color-coded list system.

4 thoughts on “Summer Days and Big Changes

  1. I am so happy for this new “change” in your life. It is going to be a good one. Your book and other writing will get done; you have always been more productive the busier you are!

  2. Congrats on the new job! Let me know how Mona does. My dog Olga comes to work with me everyday but I am looking for a new job and am assuming Olga will not be coming with me. She is going to be one pissed off poodle.

Leave a Reply

